Foodie Adventure: Washington DC- Georgetown Cupcake, Sakuramen, Jumboslice pizza and more…

Hello Guys and Gals!

Image

The moment I landed in Philadelphia, I was overfilled with excitement for the adventures over 11 days of my stay in the East Coast. My younger brother and I landed at PHL around 10pm and to my horror, it was FREEZING outside. As I was shivering down to my bones, my brother thought that being cold was the best feeling in the world. I forgot how to pack for winter weather as I’ve been living in California for over 10 years now. (Luckily, my sister has a collection of winter coats.)

My sister and brother-in-law picked us up and we were off to their beautiful home in the city. The next day, my siblings, a few friends and myself drove down to Washington DC. This is where my adventures began.

Our main purpose that weekend was to go see Dash Berlin at Echo Stage but we ended up staying for two nights and I couldn’t help but film my entire trip.

 

My reviews for the restaurants is as follows: 

Image

(iamZestea Rating Scale)

 

Jumbo Slice Pizza- 2341 18th St. Washington, DC 20009 (Adams Morgan):

This pizza joint isn’t meant to be a gourmet dining experience. Rather, it’s a meant for late night greasy, crispy, saucy, cheesy pizza. The pizza was served in a classic to-go box piping hot and fresh. Oh, did I happen to mention that just one slice of pizza is an equivalent of 5 slices of Dominos pizza put together. At $5 a slice it was definitely worth it.

What I tried:

Cheese Pizza- YUM!

Pepperoni Pizza- YUM!

Overall Zestea Scale Rating: Yum!

 

Pho Viet- 3513 14th St. NW, Washington, DC 20010 (Columbia Heights)

Pho Viet is a hole in the wall, Vietnamese restaurant and by reading the reviews on Yelp! is popular for their ‘spicy lemongrass’ pho. The restaurant basically will add their spicy lemongrass mixture into any regular pho listed on their menu. The pho comes out boiling hot and is very delicious, but to be honest, the spiciness did not digest well. (Sorry, TMI) I normally love to eat spicy food and can’t eat certain foods without sriracha but this soup just didn’t settle easy in my stomach. Overall, the soup is very flavorful and true to it’s title so I did enjoy eating it I just didn’t have a good time in the bathroom afterwards, HA!

What I tried:

Lemongrass pho with assorted meats and toppings- YUM!

Vietnamese style iced coffee- EHH…

Spring rolls- EHH…

Overall Zestea Scale Rating: Yum!

 

Georgetown Cupcake- 3301 M St. NW, Washington, DC 20007

On a Saturday afternoon the wait was about 45 minutes. Being that Georgetown Cupcake had their own show on TLC, I figured it was all about the hype. After tasting their cupcakes, I came to the conclusion that they definitely are very popular because of their publicity on TV. I’m not trying to bash on their success but I think that I’ve had better cupcakes elsewhere.

What I tried:

            Red velvet with cream cheese frosting- YUM!

Chocolate mint cheesecake- EWW!

Chocolate with peanut butter frosting- EHH…

Cherry blossom- EHH…

Chocolate birthday cake- EHH..

Salted caramel- YUM!

Chocolate ganache- EHH…

Overall Zestea Scale Rating: Ehh…

 

T.H.A.I in Shirlington- 4029 Campbell Ave. Arlington, VA 22206

About 5 years ago my family and I discovered T.H.A.I in Shirlington, in which I thought was the best Thai food I was ever going to have. In quest of finding a place in comparison, my taste buds for Thai food have become more defined and have grown accustomed the other places I found in SoCal. I’m sad to say that T.H.A.I in Shirlington did not live up to what I remembered. The flavor was all there but there was something missing and I couldn’t pin point it.

What I tried:

Lemon ginger iced tea- MUST HAVE!

Thai beef salad- EHH…

Drunken noodles with chicken- EHH…

Fried flounder- EHH…

Crying tiger- EHH…

 

Overall Zestea Scale Rating: EHH…

 

Sakuramen- 2441 18th St. NW, Washington DC 20009 (Adams Morgan)

I saved the best for last. After roaming around all day at the Smithsonian and with the temperature dropping 20 degrees from the previous day, my family and I wanted to find comfort food. When in doubt, YELP!, that’s my motto, if not drive around the neighborhood. I’d rather the latter because that’s just a waste of time and gas. We Yelp’d restaurants with soup/noodles and came across Sakuramen. Their reviews were great and the photos of the food looked delish so we decided to give it a try. When we arrived, we were stoked to be able to get a table as soon as we walked in but with in minutes the restaurant had an hour wait list. There was a spiciness rating scale that we choose from. It was rated 1-2 being mild all the way to 9-10, being so spicy you can’t feel your tongue. I actually enjoy tasting the food I’m eating so I only went with a level 5 on the spice scale, which was equivalent to sriracha. Let me tell you, this place is AMAZING! Every bite had so much depth and flavor. This by far is my favorite ramen restaurant. I have two words to say, SOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOD!

 

What I tried:

Tonkotsu Red with extra soft boiled egg- MUST HAVE!

Shoki bowl- MUST HAVE!

 

Leave a comment